Free tuition for 112 SUCs starting this semester

We are very excited to hear Senator Bam Aquino’s announcement on Thursday that the free tuition for state universities and colleges (SUCs) in the Philippines starts this second semester of academic year 2017-2018, not next year as earlier reported.

Through the Senate press release, Aquino confirmed that the 112 SUCs will not collect tuition fees and miscellaneous expenses from students earlier than expected.

He was informed by the Commission on Higher Education of the good news on October 8, he said.

“Kahapon, kinumpirma ko na implemented na po ito this second semester. So lahat ng mag-e-enrol this second semester, dapat wala nang kinokolektang tuition at miscellaneous expenses.”

Aquino is the principal sponsor and co-author of Republic Act 10931 or Universal Access to Quality Tertiary Education Act which Congress ratified this May and signed by President Duterte into law last August 4, 2017.

Based on the law, these are the 112 public universities and college that will benefit from free tuition:

National Capital Region
Eulogio ‘Amang’ Rodriguez Institute of Science and Technology
Marikina Polytechnic College
Philippine Normal University
Philippine State College of Aeronautics
Polytechnic University of the Philippines
Rizal Technological University
Technological University of the Philippines
University of the Philippines System

Region I – Ilocos Region
Don Mariano Marcos Memorial State University
Ilocos Sur Polytechnic State College
Mariano Marcos State University
North Luzon Philippines State College
Pangasinan State University
University of Northern Philippines

Cordillera Administrative Region
Abra State Institute of Science and Technology
Apayao State College
Benguet State University
Ifugao State University
Kalinga State University
Mountain Province State University

Region II – Cagayan Valley
Batanes State College
Cagayan State University
Isabela State University
Nueva Vizcaya State University
Quirino State University

Region III – Central Luzon

Aurora State College of Technology
Bataan Peninsula State University
Bulacan Agricultural State College
Bulacan State University
Central Luzon State University
Don Honorio Ventura Technological State University
Nueva Ecija University of Science and Technology
Pampanga State Agricultural University
Philippine Merchant Marine Academy
Ramon Magsaysay Technological University
Tarlac College of Agriculture
Tarlac State University

Batangas State University
Cavite State University
Laguna State Polytechnic University (Laguna State Polytechnic College)
Southern Luzon State University
University of Rizal System

Marinduque State College
Mindoro State College of Agriculture and Technology
Occidental Mindoro State College
Palawan State University
Romblon State University
Western Philippines University

Region V – Bicol Region
Bicol University
Bicol State College of Applied Sciences and Technology
Camarines Norte State College
Camarines Sur Polytechnic Colleges
Catanduanes State University
Central Bicol State University of Agriculture
Dr. Emilio B. Espinosa, Sr. Memorial State College of Agriculture and Technology
Partido State University
Sorsogon State College

Region VI – Western Visayas

Aklan State University
Capiz State University
Carlos C. Hilado Memorial State College
Guimaras State College
Iloilo State College of Fisheries
Central Philippines State University
Northern Iloilo Polytechnic State College
Northern Negros State College of Science and Technology
University of Antique
Iloilo Science and Technology University
West Visayas State University

Region VII – Central Visayas
Bohol Island State University
Cebu Normal University
Cebu Technological University
Negros Oriental State University
Siquijor State College

Region VIII – Eastern Visayas

Eastern Samar State University
Eastern Visayas State University
Leyte Normal University
Naval State University
Northwest Samar State University
Palompom Polytechnic State University
Samar State University
Southern Leyte State University
University of Eastern Philippines
Visayas State University

Region IX – Zamboanga Peninsula
J.H Cerilles State College
Jose Rizal Memorial State University
Western Mindanao State University
Zamboanga City State Polytechnic College
Zamboanga State College of Marine Sciences and Technology

Region X – Northern Mindanao
Bukidnon State University
Camiguin Polytechnic State College
Central Mindanao University
University of Science and Technology of Southern Philippines – Cagayan De Oro Campus
MSU – Iligan Institute of Technology
University of Science and Technology of Southern Philippines – Claveria Campus
Northwestern Mindanao State College of Science and Technology

Region XI – Davao Region

Compostela Valley State College
Davao Del Norte State College
Davao Oriental State College of Science and Technology
Southern Philippines Agri-Business and Marine and Aquatic School of Technology
University of Southern Philippines

Cotabato State University
Cotabato Foundation College of Science and Technology
Sultan Kudarat State University
University of Southern Mindanao

Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao
Adiong Memorial Polytechnic State College
Basilan State College
Mindanao State University
MSU-Tawi-Tawi College of Technology and Oceanography
Sulu State College
Tawi-Tawi Regional Agricultural College

Region XIII – Caraga Administrative Region
Agusan del Sur State College of Agriculture and Technology
Caraga State University (Northern Mindanao State Institute of Science and Technology)
Surigao del Sur State University
Surigao State College of Technology

The free tuition law also provides that local universities and colleges (LUCs) and TESDA-run vocational schools also get the same benefits.

That’s why students who failed to finish their college course are encouraged to inquire if they can go back to school and finish their studies for free.

“Natutuwa kami dahil ang batas na ito ay hindi lang para sa kasalukuyang naka-enroll pero sa mga nag-drop-out dahil puwede nilang ipagpatuloy ang kanilang pag-aaral nang libre,” Sen. Bam added. [Photo from CHED]

Related Posts

Nonoy Taclino

Hi, I'm Nonoy of Iloilo City, and thanks for supporting my Tech and Lifestyle blog! I've been blogging and creating content in this digital space for over 15 years now, and hoping to share and interact with you more in this blog and other platforms in the days, months and years to come! You may also follow me on Facebook @nonoynet, Instagram @nonoynet and Twitter @nonoy. See you around Iloilo!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.